top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrsnot

Skin to Earth

Trees

Dangling upside down

Over a stream of sky

Trees reaching toward the blue surface

Like stalactites, icicles of crusty bark

Reaching downward from my skewed perspective


I lay on the earth

Gazing up at the upside down

Watching branches bend and creak

Over a surface of blue unbroken

Except the occasional flotsam of clouds drifting by


The trees reach to grasp at heaven

Which floats by like the nourishing waters of a river

In this moment, heaven is beneath my head

Behind my body, gravity pulling me toward the divine

Skin to earth, connected to rock and soil and blade


I grasp a rock in my hand, anxious to feel the touch

The roughness, the reality

I watch the invisible wind magically working its way

Across the landscape of arboreal reaction

Tiny branches shivering with delight

Like a child feeling its toes in the ocean for the first time


I hold the rock to my chest, letting its weight

Press gently against my heart, anchoring me

Anchoring me to earth, anchoring me to the core

Is God in the heavens? Perhaps

But I feel God now pressed into my sternum

Pushing into my shoulder blades

Pulling me downward

Embracing me with gravity (gravity indeed)

Raising goosebumps on my skin as God passes by

Sending shivers through my bare soul


The sun warms my face and bare arms

On a brisk March afternoon

Layers of winter clothes hang inside closets

In a house where I am protected and sheltered

Cut off from that which anchors me

Separated from that which nourishes me

Detached from the well of spirit

That is only known and understood and appreciated and awed

When I take the time to bring skin to earth



62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ashes

Detour

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page