top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrsnot

Tired


This is a poem I composed during a moment of blue frustration as retirement neared but was still too close to the horizon and still far enough in the distance. The process of writing poetically (and thus more intuitively) helped me process the feelings of being on the cliff edge of uncertainty, a liminal place of fatigue as well as a thin place for God to step in beside me on the edge of the precipice. I wasn't ready to share this piece of op-ed vulnerability until I was solidly a couple of months into retirement, after being off that particular trail for a steady amount of time, knowning now that I made it and am still on the move.


Tired

Fatigued

Wan

Unmotivated

Depressed?

Maybe

Probably

Short term?

Hopefully


The mood descends and coats me

Like a film of blah

Thin but sticky, gritty

It doesn’t bind me

I keep moving, going about my day

Getting things done, replying to email

Eating, drinking, walking, moving

Keep moving

One foot in front of the other, repeat

There are glimpses of joy, of wonder even

Trees blooming, birding singing

But there’s a buzz in my ears…and my soul

A tinnitus that holds back the usual tide of goodness

That splashes happily around my psyche

Refreshing and renewing the ebb and flow of my daily emotions


I want to be done

I’ve lost the joy of going to work

I still find fulfillment and gratitude for the acknowledgement

Of my work, my skills, my compassion, my insight

But I’ve stopped caring as much. I’m tired

Fatigued

Wan

Unmotivated

Keep moving

One foot in front of the other, repeat

“This too shall pass” I tell myself

Mostly believing it, but not wanting to wait on it


An opportunity? For what?

What is the growth opportunity?

Where is God in this? How is it a portal? Hopefully not a dead end.

Is it worth it to explore the depths and the opportunity beneath?

Is it worth the effort when I’m so tired

Fatigued

Wan

Unmotivated

Keep moving

One foot in front of the other, repeat


I can’t get to a different place, a better place,

If I don’t keep moving, watching, wondering,

Being curious, being mindful

I wonder what this time of transition,

the last 100 days of work, of pre-retirement ministry,

Have to teach me about myself

Have to teach me about my post-retirement ministry

Have to teach me about what matters most

God, family, marriage, parenthood, rest


Ah, yes, rest! The sun is breaking through the clouds

Rest is coming. Good rest, not restless rest (hopefully)

As I hand over tasks, responsibilities, I am less and less busy

Less and less needed

Less and less needed

Practicing rest has been fun

Snippets on weekends that produce a longing for more

Longing for less work, less responsibility, less being needed

But I’m in this in-between place

Some work and some rest

Too much of one and not enough of the other

Feeling guilty for not wanting to do more

Comparing myself to others (as usual)

Why, why, WHY am I not as motivated?

Is it okay for me to do less?

Is it GOOD for me to do less?

Is that the opportunity?

Why is it so hard to embrace?

Why is my worth so hard to embrace?


I keep moving

One foot in front of the other, repeat

Is moving a way to avoid the rest?

How can I keep moving and still stand still?

Sabbath is about work

And rest

And how one balances the other

God in a hammock after six days of moving, moving


Was God tired?

Fatigued?

Wan

Unmotivated

Does God get depressed?

Maybe

Probably

We give God plenty of reasons, plenty

Short term?

Yes, because God’s joy burns through the clouds

Burns away the dross

Blows away the grit

In God’s time and at God’s pace and on God’s path


Moving, one foot in front of the other

Moving toward the hammock, knowing it’s there waiting

But with things to do and see and feel along the way

Things that are also full of life and love and fulfillment

Pieces of the journey that teach us

About work and rest

And their necessary union

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ashes

Detour

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page